Posted by: lordkyler | November 6, 2016

NaNo 2016: Week 1 – A Stumbling Start

This is a brief report, just to keep anyone interested updated on my status and to add an extra layer of accountability to the process, which help me a lot.

As I detailed in the previous NaNoWriMo announcement, this year’s participation was a spur-of-the-moment decision, and I knew I would be facing some difficulty. So I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that I’m not off to a stellar start.

But that’s okay. The current total is 3.5k, or what should be a day and a half’s work. However, I have been dealing with work and an incredibly annoying illness, so in some ways it’s surprising I’ve done anything. There were a couple of days I didn’t think I’d be able to write, but I managed it anyway, and that’s the real spirit of NaNoWriMo – sitting down and writing.

Is 3.5k great? No. But it’s more than I probably would have written otherwise, and it gave me the kick I needed to get going and finish some half-done stories, including the one published yesterday. As I get back into the swing of it, I expect that total to increase, until I’m hopefully back where I ought to be.

As of now, my new goal is to reach 50k words of total content, even if that extends beyond the month. If I can do that, I’ll have a whole bushel of short stories, and another NaNoWriMo victory, at least in spirit. (Not one I’d put on my resumé, but a triumph nonetheless.)

Stay tuned for next week’s announcement, if I haven’t moved to Canada as a result of Tuesday’s election results. ‘Til then, keep writing, and have fun doing it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

