Posted by: lordkyler | October 31, 2016

NaNoWriMo 2016 – To Wri or Not to Wri

It’s almost that magical time of year again, folks, the month filled with the festive signs of the season – the rhythmic tap of fingers on keyboards, desktops decorated with color-strewn outlines and confettied notes, the rich scent of ink and caffeinated beverages in the air. It is a month filled with hymns to the great holiday – carols of complaint, the familiar refrain of moans and groans, the insistent percussion of heads beating against the walls. It is not a tradition kept by the world at large, but for those true believers, it is a time of intense devotion and faith.

I speak, of course, of NaNoWriMo, which sort of snuck up on me all of a sudden. If you’ve been following this blog, you may remember that I have participated in the great-write-a-thon for the past two years. In 2014, I wrote The Legacy of Lions, a Lithra prequel, and although I experienced some difficulties in 2015, NaNoWriMo served to kick-start the writing of Lithra IV, which I finished over the following months.

Logic would dictate moving on to Lithra V for this year’s entry, but logic is for Greek scholars, I say. I do have a general outline for it, but as much as I might like to tackle that project, I don’t think it’s quite ready yet. I’m not sure if I’m ready this year. I’ve been busy at work due to the upcoming non-literary holidays, and I’m also now enrolled in a couple of college classes, which leaves me less time for personal writing.

But why let a perfectly good excuse get in the way of doing something impractical? I was originally going to write this post about being unsure if I should go for it this year or not, but I just made up my mind that I’m going to go for it. Yeah, just like that. Now, I can’t guarantee that I’ll actually beat it this year, but there’s no reason I can’t try, is there? No, you say in an inspiring and resolute fashion, there is not!

So, flying by the seat of my pants here, I’m going to set a goal of 50k by the end of November, but I’m not going to write those 50k words in one story, since I don’t have anything of that length prepared, and I’m going to have to write for my courses as well. Instead, I will attempt to hit that total among a variety of projects, including assignments and short stories. This will make things more difficult in some ways, I’m sure, but easier in others, so it should be an interesting experience. The main point is to sit down and put words to paper, so I can’t fail too badly as long as I do that.

I’ll post updates here and on Twitter as often as I remember to, so stay tuned, and hopefully by the end of this month I’ll have another fat 50k under my authorial belt. See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Categories

