Posted by: lordkyler | April 10, 2016

Short Story Week 2016

Welcome to the third annual Short Story Week, wherein I release a new short story every day of my birthday week! Previous entries can be found in the Index.

This is a chance for me to experiment, and I definitely did that this time around. Sometimes that worked out, other times… not so well. I’ll let you be the judge.

Here’s a quick rundown of what you can expect to find this week, along with a few thoughts about the writing process for each. Please stay tuned and let me know your thoughts about each piece when it comes out!

  • Monday: Pox
    • Originally I was going to write a YA sci-fi dystopia with a bit of a twist (think Matrix meets Hunger Games) but while I was thinking things over, I had a sudden explosion of ideas, and I knew I couldn’t do them justice in a short story unless I skipped to the twist at the end, which wouldn’t cut it.
      So this may become a full story at some point in the future, and instead I wrote a silly Bond-esque spy story with a different twist ending. It’s not my best work, but I think it’s at least a little amusing.
  • Tuesday: Priority
    • An actual science fiction story about two agents undergoing their final evaluation when things go terribly wrong. Although I wasn’t planning on this initially, shortly into writing this I decided to try writing without using any gendered nouns or pronouns, and I succeeded in doing so. It may be a touch clunky in places, but it’s interesting to know it’s possible. I also really like how this story turned out. The premise comes from one of my very first stories long ago, so it’s cool to see it brought back again so much better.
  • Wednesday: Salvation Point
    • A time-travel story emerging from a thought experiment I undertook. I don’t think I conveyed the concept quite as well as I would have liked to, but the point is still there. I would have to rewrite it if I wanted to go anywhere with it. Interesting idea though.
  • Thursday: The Game
    • This was more of an exercise in tone and character than displaying a concept or anything. It’s a neat little scene, but nothing really special. An experiment is useful even if unsuccessful, right?
  • Friday: Alike in Dignity
    • A different take on a classic tale. This was fun to write, and I think it turned out pretty well, although it may be a bit overwrought. The premise is pretty neat though. I may expand upon this later.
  • Saturday: Incensed
    • Another fantasy that isn’t quite a fantasy. This one was fun to write, and came more easily than some of the others on this list. Between, this, the previous story, and previous SSW entry The CurseI think I could make a little side project of novellas involving the schemes of people with not-quite-magic powers…
  • Sunday: Devil’s Advocate
    • A darker, supernatural story, something that is definitely outside my typical wheelhouse, but it came surprisingly easily and turned out very well. I’m tempted to continue this one as well, though I probably won’t.

And that’ll be it for this year’s Short Story Week. There will be other short stories and projects on the site from time to time, but I hope you enjoy this feast of short fiction over the coming week. I’m off to dive into Lithra short stories and a side anthology project, but I’d appreciate it if you took the time to let me know your thoughts about the stories.

Enjoy, and keep writing!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

