Posted by: lordkyler | January 13, 2016

A Not-Exactly-NaNoWriMo Check-In

Tomorrow, I will hit 80,ooo words on Lithra IV, the project I started for NaNoWriMo 2015. That’s a lot of words. I have been very good about writing 2,000 words every day, with one exception last week. I think I may be roughly halfway through? Goodness. Lithra II, the longest in the series, came out to about 112k, and I think this one will be longer.

I am planning to make a hard go through this one, trimming some of the fat and mopping up some of the excess melodrama, but it’s still going to be pretty hefty. I don’t think that’s a bad thing, but it is a bit intimidating. I have to say I’m pretty proud of myself and slightly overwhelmed.

What’s coming next? Well, I have a bunch of short stories I need to complete. I’ve been neglecting this blog (although you will be getting a little surprise later this week,) and with my annual Short Story Week coming up, it’ll be good to jump into something that’s not Lithra for a little bit. Then I’ve got the short stories for Lithra IV, and I have a few other projects that need some love as well.

I don’t want to lose the discipline and momentum I’ve built from writing so prolifically, so I plan to jump straight from one thing to another, scarcely coming up for air in between. Unfortunately, I’ve learned the way I write requires a framework, which means I need outlines. I have a few right now, including Lithra V and Lex Animas, and a few more that are half-formed right now.

So there it is. I just wanted to let you know I’ve been very busy, and I plan to be for the near future. I hope you’re all able to find the same fire I’ve held lately. I also hope that fire won’t end up melting the wax from these wings and send me tumbling into the cold Aegean.

Mixed metaphors aside, I’m very grateful for the opportunity to write, and if even one of you is even slightly inspired by what I’m doing here, than I have no regrets spending the time to share. Thank you for reading, and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

Categories

