Posted by: lordkyler | November 10, 2015

NaNoWriMo 2015: The Best-Laid Plans

So, the first week went very well. I was on schedule – nay, ahead of schedule! – until a day or two ago, and I’m currently sitting on a little under 14k words. (The goal is about 17k for the current date.)

So I’m not too far behind, but I think I am going to have to slow down a little. I’m not going to stop writing, but some things have come up over the coming week, and this will have to take a back seat for a little bit.

I’m not terribly worried, though. I was never going to finish this book within the month, anyway. Lithra I came out to 56k, not including short stories, and Lithra II ended up with 112k(!), also not counting the short stories that followed. Lithra III was written for NaNoWriMo, and was a prequel, but even that came out to 58k. Given the rate at which things are progressing, I have the feeling that Lithra IV will turn out just as long – if not longer – than Lithra II. So it was always going to be a marathon, not a sprint.

In any case, I may fall behind a little, but finishing the race is the important thing, right? More updates will follow as the situation warrants.

Leave a Reply

Categories

