Posted by: lordkyler | April 12, 2015

Short Story Week 2015

Today is my birthday! I’m [redacted] years old today, and I’ve had another year of experience since last year. I don’t know if that will lead to any major improvements or not, but I’m hoping.

In any case, I’m back again. I’ll be releasing a new short story every day this week. Some of them are ideas I’ve had for a long time, and I’m happy to finally bring them to life. All of these are essentially going to be first-draft rough editions, but I think you will enjoy them anyway. Please feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments.

I’d also like to take a moment to look back on last year’s stories and see how I feel about them now. If you haven’t read any of them, this would be a good time. :)

  • In Space: This was originally going to be more of a humorous piece, with the Gulliver’s Travels ending, but it ended up as something quite different, but better, I think. I think I set the mood of the piece fairly well, even if there isn’t a whole lot of characterization. But that’s okay for a short story. I couldn’t resist tacking on the silly alternate ending afterward, though. 
  • Chosen: This is one I liked well enough to write a sequel short story, The Essence of Time.
  • He Who Speaks With Birds: This is another concept I really love. I do think that the opening exposition isn’t that great, and is kind of a clunky way to introduce things. This is one that could have benefited from a little more thought and time. However, I think things improved a lot in the second half, and I’m pretty pleased with my writing there. 
  • Cavern: One that spawned a small series, and for good reason. This is my favorite story to come from this run.  It started out as sort of an attempt for a horror story opening, and turned into something totally different in the numerous sequels: Nightfall, A New Age, and Clouded. I really like Dustin and Eliza, and I am very pleased with the dialogue. 
  • Nightfall: (Linked above) While I like some of the opening exposition, it is kind of a blatant infodump, and I wish I had handled it a little smoother. The dialogue is also a little less natural this time around, but both of these people are undergoing some significant changes, so I think that’s somewhat understandable. I hope Dustin didn’t come off as a jerk. I am also fond of the ending of this one.
  • Gunslanger: The final story of the week. This one was a lot of fun. I kind of wish I had a bit more technical jargon to throw in, but it turned out well enough. I like this one a lot. 

Well, that’s all I have for today. Look out for the first short story tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Categories

