Posted by: lordkyler | November 2, 2014

NaNoWriMo 2014

Yesterday was the first day of NaNoWriMo, which is the fun way to say National Novel Writing Month. Every November, thousands of hopeful writers attempt to churn out the first draft of a 50,000 word novel, which works out to a little under 2,000 words a day. Some of these endeavors have even gone on to be published.

I intended to participate last year, but I had just finished writing Lithra II: The Knives of Aesur, and I didn’t have anything planned. So this year, I will be writing the sequel. Yesterday, I started work on The Legend of Lithra III, currently titled Sands of the South. It is more accurately a prequel, following the adventures of a younger Lithra, as the recently-betrayed enchanter follows his treacherous pupil through the wild southern deserts.

I have the whole story outlined before starting, which is a bit new for me, but it really helped with the last book. It is interesting how things can emerge and grow while writing the actual story, though. In any case, I’ll be a bit busy with that and some other real-world obligations over the month of November, but I have some posts scheduled, so you won’t be missing anything. I will post again at the end of the month, hopefully with a full book written. See you then.

Leave a Reply

Categories

