Posted by: lordkyler | April 26, 2014

The Legend of Lithra: Prep for Book III

Greetings! Readers who are new to the blog may not have heard of my other blog, the Legend of Lithra. The Legend of Lithra is a free series of fantasy adventure books being released online in serial form. I use it as a way to practice my writing and spread my work.

So far, I have written two books in the series. The first book, The Legend of Lithra, is the story of a young innkeeper’s son named Selane. Growing up, he heard stories of the great enchanter Lithra, who forged a powerful magic weapon, only to have it stolen from him by his treacherous apprentice, Resca. However, nothing could have prepared him for the day when Lithra himself passes through and asks to take Selane as his assistant. Selane is swept along in the quest, traveling the world and facing numerous foes. But will they be able to stop Resca before he can complete his devious plans?

This first book is just that, a first book. It is far from perfect, but I think I did quite well for how old I was when I wrote it. I had only a loose outline for the story, but it was good practice. The book is also accompanied by several short stories that expand the world of Lithra. So far, the first book is fully written and completely available online for free, so why not check it out? You can find the index here.

The second book is entitled: The Legend of Lithra II: The Knives of Aesur. It follows Selane’s continuing adventures, now working as an agent of the King. When a mysterious assassin strikes at a diplomatic council, Selane is sent with a few other skilled individuals to track down those responsible.

This book is a vast improvement over the first book, although it still has its flaws. It benefits from more detailed planning, character development, and my newly-gained experience.. As a “practice book,” I’m quite proud of it. The second book is currently complete, although it is still being released online. You can start at the beginning with this post.

While these books are and always will be freely available online, if you like the story or would like to read it on the go, you can purchase a full copy of either book in both print and ebook versions! Click here for links to purchase.

And that brings us to the third book, currently being called The Legend of Lithra III: The Southern Wastes. Book three is a prequel, following a younger Lithra near the beginning of his chase. When Resca flees to the deserts of the South, Lithra is obliged to follow him. After a close call with some bandits, he decides to enlist some help of his own, and hires a native warrior known as Jharad. Together, they will chase Resca throughout the South, and try to discover what exactly the traitor is planning…

Just as book two was a major improvement over book one, I expect this one to be even better. I’m currently planning on writing this book for NaNoWriMo, AKA National Novel Writing Month, in which the goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. This works out to 1,667 words each day. Since NaNoWriMo takes place in November, I will be taking the time before then to work on other projects and prepare for that time.

So far I have written the plot outline, detailed character information, complied a list of any southern language and lore I had used previously, and completed a map of the South! Behold:

Coming up with these names was fun but hard.

With this map I tried for a more “atlas style” illustration, since I wanted to clearly and intuitively show the differences between different biomes, such as desert, dry lands, and savanna. I think it turned out nicely

In order to whet your appetite and give you a taste of my writing, next week I’ll be posting an exclusive sneak peek of a short story from book two! Until then!

Leave a Reply

Categories

