Posted by: lordkyler | August 15, 2013

Assassin’s Creed V: Some Ideas

I have always been a fan of the game Assassin’s Creed, long before I even had the chance to play it. I loved watching the cinematic trailers a lot and what I saw of the gameplay really appealed to me. The hidden blade and assassin’s skills were as cool as all get out, too.

Not too long ago I finally got a current-gen system (X-Box 360) and finally got the chance to play it for the first time. And although it wasn’t perfect, it was still a lot of fun. I’m still playing AC2 right now, so I realize I’m far from the most qualified to talk about the game, but I did want to give a couple of thoughts about what I think would go well in the next game.

First of all, I’d love to see it set in ancient Japan and/or China.  It is of course a very picturesque and popular period of time, and there are several references to Assassins being in Japan/China in the games themselves. Some examples include a statue of a Japanese assassin in AC2, glyphs featuring a japanese-style building, and one of the animated short films featuring a Japanese woman.

Feudal Japan would be a great setting in terms of architecture and culture. The multi-layered buildings and large palaces would make a great playground for sneaking about. In addition, both ninja and samurai have similarities to the assassins, and both could contribute to developing your character.

Some new features: Fireworks could be used for distractions. You could run along the great wall of China. And who wouldn’t love to see an assassin using katanas, nunchaku, or throwing stars alongside the hidden blades? Hook swords seem uniquely suited to the assassin’s abilities as well. I would also love to see perhaps more possibilities for mounted combat and archery. I’m sure the talented developers would be able to come up with a variety of exciting new features, especially with more research. These ideas are just off the top of my head.

Lastly, though, there is one thing I would really like to see. I would like to play as a female assassin. Desmond (or whoever we end up playing through in the next games,) has female ancestors as well, and certainly some women can be just as skilled in these areas as men. Perhaps your character could masquerade as a geisha on occasion to avoid detection. The franchise (and video games in general) could sorely use a few more women as the playable main characters.

Feel free to chime in with your own ideas or opinions below. Would you like to see the next game take place in Japan or somewhere else? What features would you like to see added or improved? Thanks for reading.

P.S. [edit] Bamboo forests. I want to stalk my targets through a bamboo forest. And possibly fight a tiger.

Leave a Reply

Categories

